No events to show.

NEWMAC Announces Field Hockey Postseason Awards

NEWMAC Announces Field Hockey Postseason Awards

WELLESLEY, Mass. – The New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) announced its 2011 field hockey All-Conference team and postseason award recipients on Tuesday and NEWMAC co-regular season and tournament champions, MIT, took home a pair of awards, including Athlete of the Year Kameron Klauber (Carlsbad, Calif.). Cheryl Silva was tabbed as the Coach of the Year. Nathalie Gruet (Acton, Mass.) from Wellesley received the Rookie of the Year award. Wellesley was selected as the conference’s Sportsmanship award recipient.

Molly McShane (Lake Bluff, Ill.) joined her teammate Klauber on the first team All-Conference. Tournament runner-up and co-regular season champions, Mount Holyoke, had three first team honorees. Tricia Chase (Feeding Hills, Mass.), Katie Gibson (Charlotte, N.C.) and Shara Robertson (Kwazulu Natal, South Africa) were tabbed for the Lyons. NEWMAC leading scorer, Mel Melkonian (Worcester, Mass.), represented Clark on the first team. A pair of teammates from Babson, Anneliese Brosch (Essex, Mass.) and Morgan Lockwood (Feeding Hills, Mass.), were honored. Gruet was tabbed to the first team, along with Springfield’s Kelly Gallo (Westfield, Mass.) and Emily Asack (Stoughton, Mass.) of Wheaton.

2011 NEWMAC Field Hockey All-Conference and Awards

Athlete of the Year
Kameron Klauber, MIT

Rookie of the Year
Nathalie Gruet, Wellesley

Coach of the Year
Cheryl Silva, MIT

Tournament Most Outstanding Player
Anna Teruya, MIT

Sportsmanship Award
Wellesley College

First Team All-Conference
Anneliese Brosch, Babson, M
Morgan Lockwood, Babson, F
Mel Melkonian, Clark, F
Kameron Klauber, MIT, F
Molly McShane, MIT, M
Tricia Chase, Mount Holyoke, D
Katie Gibson, Mount Holyoke, GK
Shara Robertson, Mount Holyoke, F
Kelly Gallo, Springfield, F
Nathalie Gruet, Wellesley, M
Emily Asack, Wheaton, F 

Second Team All-Conference
Jess Pashos, Babson, GK
Kimberly Barker, MIT, F
Molly Duffy, MIT, F
Anna Teruya, MIT, D
Phoebe Hopkins, Smith, M
Allie Stein, Smith, F
Kayla Sokol, Springfield, M
Emily Lewis, Wellesley, F
Whitney Reid, Wellesley, M
Katelyn Comeau, WPI, D
Becca Sharpe, WPI, D