No events to show.

NEWMAC Announces 2016-17 Men's Basketball All-Conference

NEWMAC Announces 2016-17 Men's Basketball All-Conference

BOSTON, Mass – The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) released the 2016-17 Men's Basketball postseason awards on Tuesday morning. After helping lead Babson to a regular season title, Joey Flannery has been tabbed the NEWMAC Athlete of the Year for the fourth consecutive season. Helping pace MIT to claim the NEWMAC Championship crown, AJ Jurko has been named the Defensive Player of the Year while Springfield's Jake Ross garnered Rookie of the Year honors. 

Babson head coach, Stephen Brennan has been named the 2016-17 NEWMAC Coach of the Year after leading the Beavers in one of their most successful season in program history after spending most of the season ranked No. 1 in the nation, while also claiming the regular season title. 

Joining Flannery, Ross and Jurko on First Team is Nick Comenale (Babson), Isaiah Nelsen (Babson) and Ian Converse (WPI). 

Taking home Second Team honors is Tim Butala (MIT), Geoffrey Gray (Emerson), Sean Doncaster (WPI), Bradley Jacks (Babson) and Quinton Dale (Wheaton).

New to the conference this year, the NEWMAC has established an All-Sportsmanship Team for the 2016-17 Academic Year. The award is intended to recognize one student-athlete from each team, in every sport that best demonstrates the ideals of the NEWMAC and its Code of Conduct, regardless of his/her overall performance or statistics for the season. The eight men's basketball honorees are listed below.

Joey Flannery

AJ Jurko

Jake Ross

Stephen Brennan


2016-17 NEWMAC Men's Basketball All-Conference

Team Name Institution
First Team Joey Flannery Babson College
First Team Jake Ross Springfield College
First Team Nick Comenale Babson College
First Team Isaiah Nelsen Babson College
First Team Ian Converse WPI
First Team AJ Jurko MIT
Second Team Tim Butala MIT
Second Team Geoffrey Gray Emerson College
Second Team Sean Doncaster WPI
Second Team Bradley Jacks Babson College
Second Team Quinton Dale Wheaton College

2016-17 NEWMAC Men's Basketball All-Sportsmanship Team

Name Institution
Heath Post Springfield College
Zach Parsons Wheaton College
Sam Bohmiller Babson College
Kondrad Sashin Emerson College
Andrian Chuquillangui U.S. Coast Guard Academy
AJ Jurko MIT
Ian Converse WPI
Lamar Berk Clark University