Mon Dec 10
5:30 PM
at Rhode Island Col.
Tue Dec 11
6:30 PM
at Emerson
Tue Dec 11
7:30 PM
at Springfield
No Event
View Full Schedule

NEWMAC Announces 2017-18 NEWMAC Men's Basketball Postseason Honors

NEWMAC Announces 2017-18 NEWMAC Men's Basketball Postseason Honors

WESTWOOD, Mass. – The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) announced the Men's Basketball All-Conference and Postseason Awards on Tuesday morning. Sitting atop the leaderboard in multiple statistical categories, Springfield's Jake Ross has been named the Athlete of the Year while he also shares the honor of Defensive Player of the Year with MIT's Nacho Nwana. Nwana helped the Engineers claim their second consecutive conference crown over the weekend along with his teammate Hamilton Forsythe who garnered Rookie of the Year honors. 

Voted on by the eight men's basketball coaches, Wheaton's Brian Walmsley earned the Coach of the Year honors after leading the Lyons to the postseason.

The NEWMAC Men's Basketball All-Conference Team consists of a first and second team of five selections which are voted on by the eight head men's basketball coaches. The 2017-18 honorees are listed below.

Also being recognized are the eight men's basketball student-athletes that were named to the All-Sportsmanship Team. The award is intended to recognize one student-athlete from each team, in every sport that best demonstrates the ideals of the NEWMAC and its Code of Conduct, regardless of his/her overall performance or statistics for the season.

Jake Ross, Springfield
Athlete of the Year
Co-Defensive Player of the Year

Nacho Nwana, MIT
Co-Defensive Player of the Year

Hamilton Forsythe, MIT
Rookie of the Year

Brian Walmsley, Wheaton
Coach of the Year

2017-18 NEWMAC Men's Basketball All-Conference

Team Name Institution
First Team All-Conference Jake Ross Springfield College
First Team All-Conference Chris Rodgers WPI
First Team All-Conference Bradley Jomard MIT
First Team All-Conference Geoffrey Gray Emerson College
First Team All-Conference Nick Comenale Babson College
Second Team All-Conference AJ Jurko MIT
Second Team All-Conference Heath Post Springfield College
Second Team All-Conference Bradley Jacks Babson College
Second Team All-Conference Ryan Fogarty Wheaton College
Second Team All-Conference Liam Bruno Wheaton College

2017-18 NEWMAC Men's Basketball All-Sportsmanship Team

Name Institution
AJ Jurko MIT
Andy McNulty Springfield College
Micah Baldez U.S. Coast Guard Academy
Jaelen Ogodhoh Emerson College
Liam Bruno Wheaton College
Brian Kelley Babson College
John Pisacreta  Clark University
Chris Rodgers WPI