No events to show.

NEWMAC Swimming & Diving Student-Athletes, Teams Recognized for Academic Success

NEWMAC Swimming & Diving Student-Athletes, Teams Recognized for Academic Success

BABSON PARK, Mass. – Twenty-three student-athletes from New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) swimming & diving teams were recently cited for their excellence both in the pool and the classroom by the College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA). In addition to the individual honorees, eight NEWMAC teams were also recognized by the CSCAA, including the Clark University women’s squad, which posted the highest cumulative team GPA in the country.

MIT had a league-high 14 individuals honored as Scholar All-Americans and honorable mention Scholar All-Americans. Calley Murphy (Bloomfield Hills, Mich.), Sydney Giblin (Williamsburg, Va.), Morganne Klein (Campbell Hall, N.Y.), Elizabeth Stavely (West Chester, Pa.) and Elina Hu (Oshkosh, Wis.) represented the women’s team, along with honorable mention Sarah Weiss (Edina, Minn.). Toomas Sepp (New Egypt, N.J.), Brendan Deveney (Newtown, Conn.), Craig Cheney (Sherwood, Ore.), Wyatt Ubellacker (Georgetown, Ky.), Brett Boval (Coto De Caza, Calif.) and Ryan TerBush (Smithtown, N.Y.) landed on the men’s Scholar All-America team, while Ron Rosenberg (Newton, Mass.) and Remy Mock (Victoria, BC, CANADA) were honorable mention honorees.

Springfield had placed seven individuals on the list, including five from the women’s team. Kaitlin Reilly (Cumberland, R.I.), Aimee Doe (Haverhill, Mass.), Caroline Kosciusko (West Cornwall, Conn.) and Courtney Keefe (Waltham, Mass.) received All-America honors and teammate Meghan Sisson (Plainville, Conn.) was an honorable mention. Brian Sobel (Stratford, Conn.) was recognized and teammate Joshua Ernst (West Springfield, Mass.) received honorable mention plaudits.

Eileen Garcia (New York, N.Y.) led the way for the Cougars, as the NEWMAC Diver of the Year, added to her resume with the Scholar All-America accolades. Teammate Gabriela Jijon-Nemalceff (Quito, ECUADOR) was tabbed to the honorable mention list.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must have achieved a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher and qualified for the NCAA Championship. Honorable mention honorees posted a 3.5 GPA and reached an NCAA “B” cut during the season.

Both the Clark men’s and women’s teams earned the Scholar All-America team award, qualifying with team GPA’s of at least 3.0. The women had the top average of any team in Division III, with a mark of 3.67. The men were tied for fifth-best with 3.49 GPA. MIT’s men’s team was fourth on the list at 3.50. Also receiving team recognition were the Mount Holyoke, Smith, Wellesley, MIT and Springfield women’s teams.