No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 21
195 MIT
105 at Bowdoin
Sat Nov 21
155 Mount Holyoke
77 at Western Connecticut State
Sat Nov 21
110 Westfield
167 Smith
Sat Nov 21
204 Springfield
96 at Wheaton
Sat Nov 21
175 Springfield
123 at Keene State
Tue Dec 01
200 Simmons
84 Babson
Fri Dec 11
149 WPI
166 at Wesleyan
Fri Dec 11
123 WPI
184 at Tufts @ Wesleyan
Sat Dec 12
152 Springfield
148 at Middlebury
Tue Jan 05
61 WPI
223 at Pomona-Pitzer
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Springfield Holds Advantage After Day Two of NEWMAC Swimming & Diving Championships

Springfield Holds Advantage After Day Two of NEWMAC Swimming & Diving Championships

After two days of action at the 2010 New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Women's Swimming and Diving Championships, nine-time defending champion, Springfield College sits in first place with 568 total points.  

The Pride leads MIT by 121 points, as the Engineers have a two-day total of 447.  Wheaton College sits in third with 389 points while Coast Guard held on to fourth place with 304.  In fifth-place is Clark with 259 followed by Wellesley (212), WPI (154), Mount Holyoke (123), Babson (88) and Smith (77).

Wheaton picked up its first victory of the event with a win in the 200-medley relay.  The team of Iris Meehan (Bar Harbor, ME), Nicole Zais (Sudbury, MA), Taryn Brosnan (Westford, MA) and Dania Piscetta (Belmont, NH) touched the wall in an NCAA "B" cut of 1:48.68.

In the 400-IM, Springfield's Meredith Trumbull (Merrimac, MA) notched a time of 4:40.56, taking first place for the second year in a row.

Chandler Pool then saw two-straight NCAA "A" cuts, as MIT freshman phenom, Anna Kokensparger (Omaha, NE) posted a time of 55.66 in the 100-fly and Coast Guard's Kimberly Shadwick (Campbell Hall, NY) won the 200-free in 1:51.66.  Shadwick's victory made her a three-time champion in the event.

Wheaton's Zais became the first individual winner for the Lyons, donning the podium in the 100-breast in NCAA "B" standard in 1:07.56.  Also reaching a "B," cut, Springfield's Megan Cooney (Hummelstown, PA) won the 100-back in a time of 59.26.

Wrapping up the evening's action, MIT continued it's strong meet with a victory in the 800-free relay.  The tandem of 1 Sydney Giblin (Williamsburg, VA), Elina Hu (Oshkosh, WI), Amy Jacobi (Cranbury, NJ) and Kokensparger combined for a time of 7:38.45.  

For complete results, click here.

Team Standings


MIT  447
Wheaton  389
Coast Guard 304
Clark 259
Wellesley 212
WPI 154
Mount Holyoke 123
Babson 88
Smith  77

Event Winners/First Team All-Conference         
200 Medley Relay        Wheaton College 1:48.68& 
           (Iris Meehan, Nicole Zais, Taryn Brosnan, Dania Piscetta)       
400 IM  Meredith Trumbull (Springfield) 4:40.56
100 Fly Anna Kokensparger (MIT) 55.66!
200 Free        Kimberly Shadwick (Coast Guard) 1:51.66$
100 Breast      Nicole Zais (Wheaton)   1:07.56&
100 Back        Megan Cooney (Springfield)      59.26&
800 Free Relay  MIT     7:38.45         
           (Sydney Giblin, Elina Hu, Amy Jacobi, Anna Kokensparger)

! NEWMAC Championship record.
$- NCAA "A" standard.
& - NCAA "B"/provisional standard.