MIT Claims 2018-19 Women’s NEWMAC Presidents Cup for Fifth Consecutive Year

MIT Claims 2018-19 Women’s NEWMAC Presidents Cup for Fifth Consecutive Year

WESTWOOD, Mass. – For the fifth straight year, MIT has been honored with the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Women's Presidents Cup, as announced at the conference's annual meetings by WPI President Laurie Leshin along with NEWMAC President and WPI Director of Athletics Dana Harmon. The Engineers claimed six postseason championships and two regular season titles during the 2018-19 academic year.

"The MIT Athletics program had another exceptional year, and I applaud everyone who made this achievement possible," said MIT Chancellor Cynthia Barnhart. "Congratulations to the student-athletes, coaches, and staff for once again performing at such a high level in such a competitive setting.  Earning both the NEWMAC men's and women's Presidents Cup for a fifth time overall is not something we take for granted. It's a true honor, and a victory that our teams fought hard for."

MIT kicked off the fall with women's cross country claiming the programs 12th consecutive crown, followed by the regular season and second straight championship title for women's soccer. The cross country program placed five runners in the top-six places at the NEWMAC Championship and went on to take third at Nationals, while women's soccer advanced to the Second Round. 

MIT continued its success into the winter season with women's swimming and diving earning its ninth consecutive championship while the women's basketball team earned its second straight title. Women's swimming and diving went on to finish ninth at the NCAA Championship while the women's basketball team competed in the NCAA Championship Tournament.

During the spring, the women's track and field team claimed the programs 11th straight NEWMAC crown a week before the women's tennis team earned their fourth straight league title. Women's tennis went on to advance to the Elite Eight, while the women's track and field program wrapped up the spring with two All-American performances at the National Championship. MIT softball earned an at-large bid to the NCAA Championship Tournament and advanced to the regional final.

"I am very proud of our student-athletes, coaches and staff for another great year in the NEWMAC, which has proven annually to be one of the top Division III conferences in the country," said Julie Soriero, MIT Director of Athletics. "To be able to represent the NEWMAC is something that MIT takes great pride in and as a conference, our members do a great job performing on the regional and national level. With 12 NEWMAC Championships, three individual NCAA National Champions and 16 teams competing in NCAA Championship events, our teams at MIT have again had a great year representing the Institute and we are very pleased to receive this year's NEWMAC Presidents Cups." 

MIT has now earned the Presidents Cup for the women sixth times since its inception in 2012-13 (2012-13, 2014-15, 2015-16, 2016-17, 2017-18 and 2018-19). This is also the fifth time since the inaugural year that MIT swept both the men's and women's Presidents Cup honors.

The Presidents Cup is an all-sports award presented to the top overall men's and women's programs in the conference and is determined using a weighted points system based on the order of finish during both regular season and championship competition. 

2018-19 NEWMAC Women's Presidents Cup Top Three

1. MIT

2. Springfield College

3. WPI