No events to show.

WPI Tabbed Preseason Favorite in NEWMAC Men's Basketball Preseason Coaches' Poll

WPI Tabbed Preseason Favorite in NEWMAC Men's Basketball Preseason Coaches' Poll

WESTWOOD, Mass. - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) is looking forward to an outstanding 2019-20 season for the league's eight men's basketball teams with the reveal of the 2019-20 Men's Basketball Coaches' Poll. 

WPI was chosen to finish first with four first-place tallies, after advancing to the NEWMAC Championship last season. The Engineers welcome back 2019 NEWMAC Defensive Player of the Year and All-Conference selection senior Jake Wisniewski and All-Conference honoree junior Reid Walker. 

Emerson, the reigning NEWMAC Champion, earned the No. 2 spot with four first-place votes. The Lions return All-Conference selection senior Jack O'Connor and the 2019 NEWMAC Rookie of the Year sophomore Zach Waterhouse.

Babson followed at the No. 3 spot and will look to All-Conference returners senior Frank Oftring and junior Andrew Jaworski, while Springfield picked up the No. 4 spot. The Pride return senior All-American and All-Conference honoree Jake Ross

MIT comes in at the No. 5 spot, followed by No. 6 Coast Guard. After an appearance in the NCAA Second Round last season, the Engineers welcome a large group of underclassmen and return senior Christien Williams, while the Bears return All-Conference selection senior Noah Baldez and six seniors total. Rounding out the final two positions are No. 7 Clark and No. 8 Wheaton. The Cougars will return five juniors, including Tyler Davern and Biko Gayman, while the Lyons will look to the three seniors Niles CohenAlex DuBrow, and Robby Lowey

The league's eight teams will all begin the season with non-conference action, before conference play begins on Wednesday, January 8, 2020. 

2019-20 NEWMAC Men's Basketball Preseason Poll

Rank (First Place Votes)

1.   WPI (4)

2.   Emerson (4)

3.   Babson

4.   Springfield

5.   MIT

6.   Coast Guard

7.   Clark

8.   Wheaton


Reid Walker, WPI

Jack O'Connor, Emerson

Frank Oftring, Babson


Jake Ross, Springfield


Ian Hinkley, MIT

Noah Baldez, Coast Guard 

Tyler Davern, Clark

Alex DuBrow, Wheaton