No events to show.

MIT Claims 14th Straight NEWMAC Men's Cross Country Championship

MIT Claims 14th Straight NEWMAC Men's Cross Country Championship

BOSTON, Mass. – The MIT men's cross country team placed all five scoring runners in the top-eight, as the Engineers took home their 14th consecutive New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Championship on Monday afternoon at Franklin Park.

MIT notched a team total of 19 points, placing its top six runners on the All-Conference team. Springfield took second place with 44 points and four All-Conference honors, while Coast Guard nabbed third with 75 points and three All-Conference performers. Babson placed fourth with 113 points, WPI fifth with 122, while Wheaton (190) and Clark (200) rounded out the team scores in sixth and seventh place.

Individually, the Engineers were paced by senior Dan Harper (Naperville, Ill.), sophomore Roy Wedge (Lawrence, Kan.) and senior Stephen Serene (Washington, D.C.) who crossed the finish line 1-2-3 in the 100 runner field. Harper, the NEWMAC Runner of the Year, traversed the 8K course a time of 25:28. Wedge, last year's NEWMAC Runner and Rookie of the Year ran a 25:34, and Serene finished in 25:45 for third place points.

Also for MIT, senior Ben Mattocks (Sharon, Mass.) took fifth in 26:10, while freshman Allen Leung (Arcadia, Calif.) earned NEWMAC Rookie of the Year honors with a 26:26 and an eighth place finish. Rounding out the All-Conference performers for the Engineers, junior Logan Trimble (Clearwater, Fla.) took 13th place in 26:56.

Runner-up Springfield saw its All-Conference honors go to junior Ryan O'Connell (Middleboro, Mass.) who finished fourth in 26:07, senior Brian Fuller (Ludlow, Mass.) who took sixth in 26:21, and seniors Anthony Salvucci (Burlington, Mass.) and Zach Pietras (Ludlow, Mass.) who took seventh (26:23) and ninth (26:30) places.

Coast Guard was led by All-Conference performers in senior Trevor Siperek (Red Bluff, Ca.), sophomore Gary Ezzo (Scottsdale, Az.) and senior Joe Hill (Englewood, N.J.). Siperek took 10th in 26:33, Ezzo placed 11th in 26:43 and Hill finished 14th in 26:57.

Babson was represented on the All-Conference team by freshman Mark Gulesian (Miami, Fla.) who took 12th place overall in a time of 26:52.

For complete results, click here.

2011 NEWMAC Men’s Cross Country All-Conference
Dan Harper, MIT
Roy Wedge, MIT
Stephen Serene, MIT
Ryan O'Connell, Springfield
Ben Mattocks, MIT
Brian Fuller, Springfield
Anthony Salvucci, Springfield
Allen Leung, MIT
Zach Pietras, Springfield
Trevor Siperek, Coast Guard
Gary Ezzo, Coast Guard
Mark Gulesian, Babson
Logan Trimble, MIT
Joe Hill, Coast Guard

2011 NEWMAC Men’s Cross Country Runner of the Year
Dan Harper, MIT

2011 NEWMAC Men’s Cross Country Rookie of the Year
Allen Leung, MIT