No events to show.

Springfield Takes Top Spot in NEWMAC Women's Basketball Preseason Coaches' Poll

Springfield Takes Top Spot in NEWMAC Women's Basketball Preseason Coaches' Poll

WESTWOOD, Mass. - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) is looking ahead to a competitive 2019-20 season for the league's 11 women's basketball programs. After a close vote with three teams earning first place nods, the NEWMAC released the 2019-20 Women's Basketball Preseason Coaches' Poll.  

Springfield was named the preseason favorite and earned five first-place votes, as the Pride welcome back the 2019 NEWMAC Defensive Player of the Year and First Team honoree Alex Goslin. Babson claimed the second spot with five first-place votes and will return All-Conference honoree Katherine Tamulionis. 

MIT, the 2019 NEWMAC Champion, was picked to finish third, as the Engineers welcome back 2019 NEWMAC Rookie of the Year Christina Antonakakis. Emerson was selected to finish fourth in the poll and return three seniors in Natalie Clydesdale, Quinn Madden, and Kate Foultz. 

WPI was chosen to place fifth with the Engineers looking to its three seniors in Alana Keating, Spencer Vinson, and Alexa Itsines. No. 6 Smith, No. 7 Wellesley and No. 8 Clark followed in the poll. After advancing to the NCAA Second Round last season and earning one first-place vote in this year's poll, the Pioneers will return three juniors in Emma Zener, Karena Garcia, and Elle Jo Whalen. The Blue return All-Conference selection Caitlin Aguirre, while the Cougars will look to junior Hannah Favaloro. 

Tied at the No. 9 spot are Coast Guard and Wheaton. The Bears return seniors Breanna Wood and Zoe Riis-Fallica, as the Lyons welcome back All-Conference honoree Mikayla Pucci. Mount Holyoke rounds out the poll in the No. 11 spot and will look to senior Katlyn Grover. 

The first NEWMAC game is slated for Tuesday, January 7, 2020. 

2019-20 NEWMAC Women's Basketball Preseason Poll

Rank (First Place Votes)

1.   Springfield (5)

2.   Babson (5)

3.   MIT

4.   Emerson

5.   WPI

6.   Smith (1)

7.   Wellesley

8.   Clark

T9.  Coast Guard

T9.  Wheaton 

11.  Mount Holyoke 


Alex Goslin, Springfield

Katherine Tamulionis, Babson

Christina Antonakakis, MIT


Natalie Clydesdale, Emerson

 Spencer Vinson, WPI

Dashelle Gleissner, Smith 

Caitlin Aguirre, Wellesley

Hannah Favaloro, Clark

 Breanna Wood, Coast Guard

Mikayla Pucci, Wheaton

Annika Brooks, Mount Holyoke