No events to show.

Babson Takes No. 1 Spot in NEWMAC Volleyball Preseason Coaches' Poll

Babson Takes No. 1 Spot in NEWMAC Volleyball Preseason Coaches' Poll

WESTWOOD, Mass. - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) is looking forward to a competitive season between the league's 11 volleyball programs with the release of the 2019 Volleyball Preseason Coaches' Poll. 

Babson was chosen to finish first with nine first-place tallies, after an impressive 2018 season that included an Elite Eight appearance and a NEWMAC title. The Beavers welcome back All-American Honorable Mention selections in Elizabeth Cameron and Allie Puccio, along with All-Region honoree Kristin Carosotto

MIT was named to the No. 2 spot with two first-place votes and will look towards returning seniors Madison LeeAlexis Groark, and Shea Landeene. Springfield was ranked No. 3, as the Pride return All-American Honorable Mention Camryn Bancroft and the 2018 Rookie of the Year Sara Labadorf. 

After a Second Round appearance in 2018, Wellesley claimed the No. 4 spot and welcomes back All-American Honorable Mention Lauren Gedney. Coast Guard finished fifth in the polls and returns all seven starters from the 2018 season, along with All-Conference selection Angelou Donton

Wheaton picked up the No. 6 spot and will look to returning All-Conference honoree Becca Houghton. No. 7 WPI and No. 8 Emerson followed in the poll. The Engineers will be led by Colleen Mullins and the Lions will return Grace Tepper, as each led their respective teams as starters in kills per set in 2018.

Rounding out the final three spots are No. 9 Clark, No. 10 Smith and No. 11 Mount Holyoke. The Cougars will return juniors Sophia Torino and Caitlin Kim, while the Pioneers will have three seniors in Jody Huang, Kimani Freeman, and Iris Afantchao. The Lyons welcome back seniors Sasha Simine and Natasha Henry

The 2019 NEWMAC Volleyball season is set to begin on Wednesday, September 17th. Follow all the action here

2019 NEWMAC Volleyball Preseason Coaches' Poll 

1.   Babson (9) 

2.   MIT (2) 

3.   Springfield

4.   Wellesley 

5.   Coast Guard 

6.   Wheaton 

7.   WPI 

8.   Emerson 

9.   Clark 

10. Smith 

11. Mount Holyoke 

 Kristin Carosotto, Babson


Madison Lee, MIT


 Sara Labadorf, Springfield

Meghan Shoop, Wellesley

Angelou Dunton, Coast Guard 

Becca Houghton, Wheaton


 Colleen Mullins, WPI

Grace Tepper, Emerson


Paige Kacherian, Clark


Kimani Freeman, Smith


 Sasha Simone, Mount Holyoke